Installation Ceremony of His Majesty the 15th Yang Di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia

His Royal Highness Prince Haji Al-Muhtadee Billah ibni His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu'izzaddin Waddaulah, the Crown Prince and Senior Minister at the Prime Minister's Office as personal representative of His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam this morning attended the Installation of His Majesty the 15th Yang Di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia, Sultan Muhammad V (the 5th).

The Installation Ceremony took place at Istana Negara, Malaysia. Upon arrival at the Istana Negara, His Royal Highness the Crown Prince was greeted by Yang Berhormat Dato' Seri Dr. Salleh Said Keruak, Minister of Communications and Multimedia of Malaysia as the Chairman of the Special Installation Committee, and wife; as well as by other members of the Committee, before proceeding to the Dewan Seri Maharaja. The Installation Ceremony was attended by Malaysia's State Rulers and royal family members; as well as Their Excellences the Yang-Di-Pertua-Yang-Di-Pertua Negeri, Yang Amat Berhormat Prime Minister, Yang Amat Berhormat Deputy Prime Minister, Cabinet Ministers, Chief Ministers, representatives of foreign nations, and local and foreign dignitaries, along with their spouses.

The ceremony began with the arrival of His Majesty Sultan Muhammad V at the Bailarung Seri, accompanied by the Datuk Maharaja Lela as well as panglimas carrying the Cogan Alam and Cogan Agama, the two silver ceremonial staffs which are part of the Royal Regalia and that symbolise the Malaysian Government.

His Majesty Sultan Muhammad V, the Sultan of Kelantan was appointed as the 15th Yang Di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia for a five-year term with effect from 13th December 2016, during a special meeting of the Conference of Rulers in October 2016. His Majesty succeeded His Majesty Yang Di-Pertuan Agong Almu'tasimu Billahi Muhibbuddin Tuanku Alhaj Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Badlishah, whose term as the 14th Yang Di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia ended in December 2016.

Today's Installation Ceremony marks the official start of the reign of His Majesty Yang Di-Pertuan Agong, Sultan Muhammad V as the 15th Yang Di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia.

His Majesty Sultan Muhammad V was born on the 6th of October, 1969 at Istana Batu in Kota Bharu, Kelantan. His Majesty acceded to the throne as the 29th Sultan of Kelantan on the 13th of September, 2010. Prior to being appointed as the 15th Yang Di-Pertuan Agong, His Majesty had held the appointment of 14th Deputy Yang Di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia since 13th December 2011.

Source: Radio Television Brunei

Related posts