MTSSR IBTE Offers Aircraft Engineering and Communications (BruDirect (Brunei))

With the aspiration to establish the first aviation academy in Brunei, the MTSSR (Sultan Saiful Rijal Technical College) campus of Institute of Brunei Technical Education (IBTE) opened the new building for its Aircraft Department at Jalan Berakas recently.

The department offers aircraft engineering and electronic and communications programmes. The new building, which took three years to complete at a cost of around BND$19 million, has a brand new hangar for the Aircraft Department that could house several aircraft as teaching aids.

Information on the new building was revealed recently by Dr. Sheikh Lukman S A Hamid, principal central of Institute of Brunei Technical Education (IBTE), on the sidelines of the handing over of two decommissioned Bell 212 helicopters to the Aircraft Department.

The department offers four programmes, namely BDTVEC Skill Certificate 3 in Basic Aircraft Engineering, BDTVEC Skill Certificate 3 in Aircraft Engineering, BDTVEC Diploma in Aircraft Maintenance Engineering (Avionics) and BDTVEC Diploma in Aircraft Maintenance Engineering (Airframe and Engine).

“Besides training locals, we want to attract foreign students to come to join the courses. Therefore, we need to first attain the EASA, 147 accreditation, the highest form of international standard in aircraft for conducting training,” Dr. Sheikh Lukman said.

“We are offering programmes that offer competency based training and that are in demand within industries. We always engage with the stakeholders in the industry to find out their requirements so that our graduates will be able to get employment.

“With this continuous engagement, majority of the graduates from IBTE has managed to gain employment. Research showed that 92 per cent of IBTE graduates have found employment, with some currently holding important positions in the aviation industry, Dr. Sheikh Lukman added.

Currently, there are seven campuses under Institute of Brunei Technical Education (IBTE) and they are MTSSR, Mechanical Training Centre (PLM), Wasan Vocational School, Nakhoda Ragam Vocational School, Business School, Jefri Bolkiah Engineering College and Sultan Bolkiah Vocational School.

Related posts