Hassanal Bolkiah Trophy for ASEAN Youth Football Championship 2012 Review

The Hassanal Bolkiah Trophy For ASEAN Youth Football Championship or HBT 2018 will raise its curtain soon. 7 teams from ASEAN member states as well as Timor Leste will compete in this championship.

6 years ago, the national team was crowned as the champion of HBT 2012. The spirit and resilience portrayed by the national team has led to momentous victory, and etched an unforgettable chapter in the history of national football.

Being crowned as the champion of the HBT 2012 was a significant moment for the country as the championship's host. The crowd often let out thunderous cheers at the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium in Berakas when the national team entered the field to face its opponents. When Brunei Darussalam's qualified for the final round against Indonesia, it was indeed a fantastic news for the country at that time. The presence of over 20 thousand spectators flooding the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium has helped to further raise the player's spirit.

With a 2-nil victory over Indonesia, it has marked another glorious moment for the country's football history. Prior to this, Brunei Darussalam has recorded a similar historic victory when the national team was crowned as the champion of Malaysia Cup in 1999. Among the notable players at that time were Adi Said, who was selected as the best player, and Md Najib Tarif as the head of the team. It is hoped that for the HBT 2018 edition, the national team can give their best performance and good competition.

The commitment and high discipline from all levels, be it at the management section or players, are among the vital factors for the team's success. This will also act as an encouragement towards achieving football excellence in the country.

Source: Radio Television Brunei

Related posts